CoSarc gets an official pat on the back from England Athletics

A letter from the governing body’s CEO Chris Jones to club secretary Karen Mundell.

Dear Karen                                                                                                    15 October 2018

I am writing to congratulate you on the success that your club has enjoyed this year in the 2018 domestic competition season.

I wanted to thank you all as a club and to acknowledge the large amount of dedication and commitment from the range of people who must have contributed towards this achievement.

As well as the athletes, coaches and team management directly involved in this success, I am sure there are many others who have played a contributory role to this and the many other day to day activities of your club.

For England Athletics to be able to work to support the efforts of volunteers is a great privilege. We will continue to strive to do this to the best of our ability.

I wish you every success in the future and thank you for all you do for the sport.

Yours sincerely

Chris Jones

CEO England Athletics


Salisbury road runners win league points at Gosport

With hot competition from as far afield as London and Devon, Stuart Holloway was relegated to seventh place overall in the Gosport half marathon but he was still able to boost his City of Salisbury team in their Hampshire road race campaign among the leaders in the men’s league.

On a breezy day when improvements were scarce his time of 73min 46sec gave the club’s A quartet a solid start, backed up by James Hassan 79.24, Richard Davidson 81.22pb, and Mike Brewster whose 82.36 gave him third place in his age group.

Another good performance came from the B team’s Reece Ingram who clocked a pb 82.53, supported by James Mills 84.44, Benedict Saunby a debut 88.11 and Craig Weatherburn 89.26.

Ruth Thom led the way for the club in the women’s A race with 89.41, then with two more great runs came Charlotte Ingram 93.58pb and Sarah Brewster 101.50 for fourth in her age group.

The B team comprised Rachel Bala 111.16, Louise Sloane 111.51 and Alison Scott 115.19.
Mike White was first counter for the men’s C team, recording 89.49, with Richard Larcombe 92.36pb, Joe Cornwall 93.40 and Nick Hudson 97.25.

Other CoSarc finishers were: Steve Mitchell 98.08, Craig Murphy 98.14, Stuart Robertson 100.09, Terry Brown 102.06, Barry Vincent 106.52, Jon Kershaw 108.28, Paul Slaughter 111.04, Richard Williams 111.19, Marc Hankins 112.02, Mel Murphy 117.33, Lucy Orchard 117.38, Liz Roberts 117.44, Jane Whiteley 112.05, Rebecca Lockwood 124.42, Jackie Hassan 125.31, Colin Martin 138.40, Fi Thatcher 139.43, Denise von Roretz 143.14, Will Witt 146.11 and Lesley Brown 153.51.
In the rain and mud of the Dark Valley half marathon near Ringwood one week earlier, Mike White was timed at 99.41 for 13th spot, followed by Stuart Robertson 108.10, Fi Thatcher 158.30 and Joan Kerr 171.51.

Next Hampshire road league fixture is the Victory 5mile on Dec 2nd.

Rain fails to dampen Salisbury runners’ spirits at Aldershot

Heavy rain forecast for the senior women’s race in the Hampshire cross country league over a tough course at Aldershot failed to dampen the spirits of City of Salisbury runners who did well enough to finish twelfth-placed team among more than 30 competing clubs.
Pick of the bunch was Sian Thomas who marked her return from injury by completing the 6k in 25min 50sec for a solid 41st place out of well over 200, and she was closely followed by Charlotte Ingram in 55th, Alice Sullivan 66th and Emma Clarke 69th.
Then came Rachel Bala 130th, Alison Scott 136th, Tasha Mundell 137th, Ellen Tilley 164th, Mel Murphy 172nd, Lisa Milner 173rd, Grace Cousins 175th, Lu Yarwood 183rd, Vanessa Maple 185th, and Denise von Roretz 203rd.
In the 10k senior men’s event, Sean Byrne was best placed Salisbury vest in 56th spot, with Reece Ingram 103rd, Richard Davidson 108th and Andy Holmes 111th.
James Mills was next in 144th, followed by Craig Weatherburn 206th, Richard Larcombe 223rd, Steve Mitchell 227th, Joe Cornwall 240th, Chris Maple 264th, James Ballard 269th, Paul Welland 274th, Craig Murphy 279th, Gary Domoney 292nd, Barry Davies 293rd and Tom Lay 300th.
At the British Athletics cross country challenge fixture in Milton Keynes, City of Salisbury’s adopted rising star Verity Ockenden was another to make a welcome return from injury. Clearly well on her way back to the form that earned her international honours last year, she ran strongly to finish fifth in a strong field.

Davidson sets 10mile pb by the sea

Richard Davidson

City of Salisbury’s Richard Davidson produced one of his best performances on the road at the Hayling 10mile in what proved to be good conditions for speedy running by the sea.
His time of 60min 56sec not only set a new mark at the distance but also gave him fourth place in his age group behind winner James Baker of Chichester’s 54.09.
Craig Weatherburn was next Salisbury finisher in 67.46, just outside his best, followed by Richard Larcombe 69.14pb, Craig Murphy 72.08pb and Barry Vincent 81.05.
In the ladies’ race, Melenie Murphy clocked 86.05, Anne Norman 101.29 and Lesley Brown 104.52.
Over a much tougher course at the Stickler multi terrain 10mile hill race in Dorset, Reece Ingram took a hard-earned tenth spot in 72.53 behind Clapham’s Edward Rees in first place with 67.16.
Barry Hards was timed at 82.59, Steve Mitchell 87.11, Chris Maple 87.57 and Ella-May Hards 89.57.
On Saturday [10th] the club switches its focus to cross country running with a big Hampshire league fixture at Aldershot.

Snow on the run for marathon pair

44946580_10155633845627120_5777843087527116800_n.jpg The weekend cold snap was a key feature of many running events, not least in the two-day Original Mountain Marathon over the high moorland of South Wales.
City of Salisbury’s Stuart Holloway and Ruth Thom were the running club’s only representative pairing and they were happy enough to be able to say that despite severe conditions underfoot as well as snow flurries, they survived everything the course could throw at them.
The only slightly less cold roads of the Clock Change 10k Challenge at Calne allowed Richard Larcombe to record a personal best of 42min 25sec as Salisbury’s fastest of the day.
Jonathan Kershaw was next in 45.57 and he was followed by Kieran McManus 54.46pb and Lesley Brown 61.41.
The 5k event at the same venue gave Duncan Watson a promising debut of 29.04.
In the hilly Breamore 10k, Mike White finished well up, stopping the clock at 43.16.