top of page
  • Writer's pictureCity Of Salisbury ARC

Cross country medals for City of Salisbury prospects

Two of City of Salisbury’s brightest young prospects started the new year with great performances in the South West cross country championships at Yeovil, writes John Ruskin.

Salisbury's Bea Wood storms to U17 victory - photo Polly Jacobs

Bea Wood wasted no time in making her mark on the 2020 season by winning the under 17’s title in fine style, with Isobella Wolsley just edged into fourth. In the under 15’s Sophie Nicholls was also a medallist in a good third place with Evie Routledge not far behind and Lukas Bailey running well for the boys.

Recent signing Rich Ayling was best of the senior men in 23rd, followed by Michael Beckett 33rd, Andy Holme 79th, Richard Davidson 89th, Jonathan Croom 101st, Neal Jacobs 103rd and Stephen Nicholls 134th.

For the ladies Polly Jacobs was placed in the mid-40’s, Katie Clements 68th, and she was closely followed by Page Holvey with Rachel Etheredge 82nd and Grace Cousins 83rd.

Art Mitchell was highest placed of the under 11’s in 14th spot, and for the girls Sophie Wood came 18th, Elara Jacobs 22nd, Sophie Hayakawa 25th and Lilli Clements 31st.

In the under 13’s, Daisy Sears was 33rd, Neve Cousins 44th, Olivia Glover 46th and for the boys Charlie Coles was 13th, Isaac Routledge 41st and Caleb Etheridge 51st.

Sean Byrne tough's it out on the hills of Salisbury Plain to win Plain Crazy - photo Alan Swan Photography

Sean Byrne brought his 2019 season to a successful close when he won the Plain Crazy 12.5mile trail race over strength-sapping hills near Warminster.

Among 500 finishers, his impressive run of 1hour 16min 11sec gave a flying start to a sizable contingent from the club. James Hassan was next with 1.25.48 to win his age category.

Then came Richard Davidson 1.26.47, coach Craig Weatherburn 1.32.04, Mike White 1.35.21, Richard Larcombe 1.35.40, Andy Budgell 1.35.48, Jon Kershaw 1.39.39, Al Moutray 1.39.51, Craig Murphy 1.41.30, James Ballard 1.44.20 and Stuart Robertson 1.44.52.

Aly Sloane earned a good age group win in 1.53.58, then came Louise Stranks 1.56.24, Harriet Lyons 1.58.42, Jackie Hassan 2.10.21, Lisa Milner 2.12.03, Mel Murphy 2.12.08, Helen Carlton 2.12.09, Denise von Roretz 2.21.41, Jo Fotheringham 3.01.57 and Jenny Weatherburn 3.07.50.

Phil Perry completed another in his string of marathons with a 3hours 33min run for second place at the Phoenix event on the Thames tow-path.

225 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page