Rain-soaked 5mile fails to dampen Salisbury spirits

There was no hiding the gloomy weather on the day

Cold and wet conditions greeted 500 runners at the first of the new season’s fixtures in the Hampshire Road Race League, the Overton 5mile contested by more than 20 keen City of Salisbury athletes.

Fastest was Shaun Brown who crossed the line on the hilly, twisting course in a good time of 27min 53sec to secure seventh place overall, putting the men’s A team on a good footing. Then came James Mills with 30.00, Lee Syrett 30.08 and Mike Brewster 30.43 to complete the scoring foursome.

Sally Greenslade was quickest of the club’s women, her 36.25 supported by Sarah Brewster’s 36.39 and Jane Whiteley’s 43.14 to complete their A team.

The men’s tightly grouped B team comprised Jonathan Croom with 31.07, Angus Paton 31.54, Peter Callanan 32.06 and Nick Cooke 32.30.

Other Salisbury finishers were James Ballard 33.15, Jon Kershaw 34.34, Richard Larcombe 34.40, Phil Perry 36.15, Jason Bennett 37.25, Steve Mitchell 37.27, Nick Willetts 37.58, Barry Vincent 40.01, Paul Slaughter 40.34, Di Cross 43.39, Richard Bidmead 46.15 and Colin Martin 49.41.

The next league fixture is the Solent half marathon on Sept 24th.

36173117273_0c9c917125_k.jpg On a much kinder day, City of Salisbury’s speedy young Beatrice Wood smashed the parkrun course record at Churchill Gardens when among 440 finishers she not only took first place overall in 17min 21sec but also set a personal best plus a new age grading record, leaving many more senior runners, male and female, in her wake.


Second again, Holloway run sets the standard

19420874_10213369839179987_637712646775588029_n (1).jpg
Stu and Ruth showing us how its done.

Stuart Holloway propelled his City of Salisbury clubmates towards a string of good performances to end the road racing league season at the Lordshill 10k.

At the front from the off, he battled for much of the distance with Matthew Bennett of the Southampton AC hosts, running strongly all the way round the urban circuit. But at the finish he had to accept a good second place – his third of the campaign – to stop the clock at 33min 9sec, just 22sec from a win.

Many runners struggled with the warm humidity, but Mike Brewster held on to his super-vet status by finishing second in his age group with a sterling 36.53, track specialist Andy Holme’s 38.02 and Mark Glanville at 39.26 completing the club A team.

Quality run of the day came from Ruth Thom who shattered her previous best at the distance with a first-class 40.47, placing her second in her age group and giving the Salisbury club a flying start in the ladies’ team standings.

The versatile Emma Clarke clocked 43.37 and Sarah Brewster made up the scoring trio with 45.26.

The men’s B team comprised Angus Paton in 42.01, Reece Ingram 42.07, Ian Lawrence 42.17 and Peter Manning 43.02.

Mike White and Phil Smith both made swift returns from injury with 43.04 and 43.07 respectively, and they were followed by Andy Budgell in 44.20, Joanne Bailey 44.32, Jon Kershaw 45.22, Steve Mitchell 45.57, Phil Perry 46.17, Charlotte Ingram 46.49, Richard Larcombe 46.57, Tim Phillips 47.42, Catherine Marsden 48.05, Nick Willetts 48.21, Jane Whiteley 54.01, Norbert Weber 55.05, Lisa Milner 55.57, Paul Bellamy 58.59, Colin Martin 63.53, Mel Holloway 65.52 and Marie Manning 76.54.

Winners of the club’s 10k championships were Stuart Holloway and Ruth Thom, pictured at the finish.


Hundreds feel the heat in Salisbury 10mile road race

Unseasonably hot sunshine and a rising headwind from the half-way point at Upper Woodford meant that for hundreds of runners in the City of Salisbury 10mile road race conditions were deceptively tough.

The switch to an April fixture was ideal for the army of more than 90 volunteers however, and contributed to another great success for the club. As a result, there have been unprecedented numbers of accolades and thanks from visiting runners to race director Stuart Holloway and his team.

Overall winner was Chris McMillan of Weston AC in 56min 08sec, with New Forest’s Alastair Pickburn second in 56.56 and Ben Pitman from Lordshill third in 57.15.

Ladies’ race honours went to Emma Jolley in 62.24, with Rebecca Lord from Stubbington second in 63.26 and Kath Bailey of Winchester, last year’s ladies’ winner, this time third in 63.55.

As last year, the two overall winners received as part of their prizes a commemorative tee shirt in ‘maillot jaune’ yellow.

James Mills
Sian Thomas
James Mills
James Mills











City of Salisbury’s diminutive Sian Thomas produced a cracking 65.05 for fifth place overall in the ladies’ race to give a flying start to the ladies’ A team, with Emma Clarke’s 72.37 and an inspired four minute improvement from Charlotte Ingram with 72.56.

James Mills with his eye on a pb if possible before starting his training taper in advance of the London marathon clocked an encouraging 62.42 which though missing his target still headed up the men’s A team. Mike Brewster finished in 62.53, Jonathan Croom followed in 66.30 and a huge five minute improvement by Nick Cooke completed the scoring quartet in 67.48.

Steve Auton led the way for the men’s B team with 67.50, with close packing by Lee Syrett 68.42, Kevin Tilley 69.17 and Darren Neale 71.19.

For the ladies’ B team, Ruth Thom clocked 73.39, supported by Alex Mundell 74.00 and Sarah Brewster 77.09.

Other Salisbury finishers were: Peter Dengel 72.05, Craig Murphy 73.08, Richard Holt 73.33, Richard Larcombe 76.07, Steve Mitchell 78.25, Sally Greenslade 79.14, Andy Budgell 79.52, Beth Hammond 80.06, James Ballard 80.11, Chris Burton 80.36, Mel Murphy 81.07 and Nick Willetts 81.21.

Then came Stuart Robertson 82.30, Tim Phillips 82.55, Catherine Marsden 84.49, Jon Kershaw 85.05, Nick Hudson 86.21, Marie Shone 87.32, Linda Robson 90.54, Jeremy Mardles 96.53, Claire Cobham 98.49, Norbert Weber 100.09, Jane Whiteley 100.29, Elly Mills 104.20, Jeanette Hardiman 112.49, Marie Manning 118.44 and Becki Sneap 122.21.

Salisbury runners photographs – courtesy of Andy Robbins

The club’s race organising committee wish to record their thanks to sponsors Alton Sports, Hildon Water, Runnerprint-Winner, Salisbury Journal, Sport4Salisbury, Trophyman,V-Tec and Westover Group, and of course every single volunteer who played their part in making the whole event such a credit to the running club.


Hot pace at Eastleigh 10k

Stuart Holloway
Charlotte Ingram











Just two minutes separated City of Salisbury’s Stuart Holloway from a podium place at the hotly-contested Eastleigh 10k but such was the pace at the front that he was relegated to 21st spot.

His season’s best time of 33min 6sec in the Hampshire League event still meant a good men’s A team result for the club with Mike Brewster 36.33, Mark Glanville 38.01 and Lee Syrett 38.37 in support.

The ladies’ A team were led out by Charlotte Ingram whose 43.10 personal best in the windy conditions was one of the day’s top runs. Sarah Brewster with 45.37 and Liz Roberts 49.15 completed the scoring trio.

Steve Auton was first of the men’s B team in 38.55. Then came Nick Hudson 42.10, Craig Murphy 42.31 and Richard Larcombe 42.32.

Other Salisbury finishers were Stuart Robertson 43.46, Phil Perry 44.22, Andrew Kettle 45.13, Nick Willetts 45.40, Steve Mitchell 46.15, Jon Kershaw 48.39, Paul Slaughter 49.05, Colin Martin 59.41 and Marilyn Hunt 62.53.

In the similarly ultra-competitive national schools’ cross country finals at Norwich, Salisbury athletes selected to run for their county finished as follows:

Junior boys: Greg Herring 71st and Nile Battey 136th of 345 finishers; Intermediate girls: Isobel Horsfield 220th of 344; boys: Alex D’arbost 281st of 338; and Senior boys: Jaymee Domoney 45th, Fabrice Webb 243rd of 324.