Hundreds feel the heat in Salisbury 10mile road race

Unseasonably hot sunshine and a rising headwind from the half-way point at Upper Woodford meant that for hundreds of runners in the City of Salisbury 10mile road race conditions were deceptively tough.

The switch to an April fixture was ideal for the army of more than 90 volunteers however, and contributed to another great success for the club. As a result, there have been unprecedented numbers of accolades and thanks from visiting runners to race director Stuart Holloway and his team.

Overall winner was Chris McMillan of Weston AC in 56min 08sec, with New Forest’s Alastair Pickburn second in 56.56 and Ben Pitman from Lordshill third in 57.15.

Ladies’ race honours went to Emma Jolley in 62.24, with Rebecca Lord from Stubbington second in 63.26 and Kath Bailey of Winchester, last year’s ladies’ winner, this time third in 63.55.

As last year, the two overall winners received as part of their prizes a commemorative tee shirt in ‘maillot jaune’ yellow.

James Mills
Sian Thomas
James Mills
James Mills











City of Salisbury’s diminutive Sian Thomas produced a cracking 65.05 for fifth place overall in the ladies’ race to give a flying start to the ladies’ A team, with Emma Clarke’s 72.37 and an inspired four minute improvement from Charlotte Ingram with 72.56.

James Mills with his eye on a pb if possible before starting his training taper in advance of the London marathon clocked an encouraging 62.42 which though missing his target still headed up the men’s A team. Mike Brewster finished in 62.53, Jonathan Croom followed in 66.30 and a huge five minute improvement by Nick Cooke completed the scoring quartet in 67.48.

Steve Auton led the way for the men’s B team with 67.50, with close packing by Lee Syrett 68.42, Kevin Tilley 69.17 and Darren Neale 71.19.

For the ladies’ B team, Ruth Thom clocked 73.39, supported by Alex Mundell 74.00 and Sarah Brewster 77.09.

Other Salisbury finishers were: Peter Dengel 72.05, Craig Murphy 73.08, Richard Holt 73.33, Richard Larcombe 76.07, Steve Mitchell 78.25, Sally Greenslade 79.14, Andy Budgell 79.52, Beth Hammond 80.06, James Ballard 80.11, Chris Burton 80.36, Mel Murphy 81.07 and Nick Willetts 81.21.

Then came Stuart Robertson 82.30, Tim Phillips 82.55, Catherine Marsden 84.49, Jon Kershaw 85.05, Nick Hudson 86.21, Marie Shone 87.32, Linda Robson 90.54, Jeremy Mardles 96.53, Claire Cobham 98.49, Norbert Weber 100.09, Jane Whiteley 100.29, Elly Mills 104.20, Jeanette Hardiman 112.49, Marie Manning 118.44 and Becki Sneap 122.21.

Salisbury runners photographs – courtesy of Andy Robbins

The club’s race organising committee wish to record their thanks to sponsors Alton Sports, Hildon Water, Runnerprint-Winner, Salisbury Journal, Sport4Salisbury, Trophyman,V-Tec and Westover Group, and of course every single volunteer who played their part in making the whole event such a credit to the running club.